Back in Action…with a dish that has no name

So those of you in the Boston area probably remember that last week was absurdly cold. The arctic temperatures kept me from the grocery store…and by a trickle down effect kept me from Crocket. But good news! It warmed up and I made it to the grocery store. This weeks chronicle is about a mystery beef, sweet potato, and apple dish. Recipe courtesy of my mom..who pulled it from one of the million cookbooks at my Gram’s house. 

I was looking to try something different this week. I wasn’t really in the “stew” kinda mood and I already did the whole lasagna thing. So this recipe appealed to me. Its also real easy to put together. Here’s what’cha need:

about 2 lbs stew beef
2-3 sweet potates cut in large chunks
2 apples cored and sliced (leave skin on)
1 onion sliced
2 cloves garlic minced
1/2 cup beef broth
tyme, salt, pepper
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tbl corn starch
2 tbl cold water

I suck at cutting vegetables. FACT. I always manage to cut myself. You don’t have to mince everything with this one…so win for me…and my fingers. You legit just throw it all in the crockpot (minus the last 3 ingredients) and go about your business. Then when you get home you take the apples, beef, potatoes, and onions out and put’em to the side. Here’s the part I did WRONG. You mix the cornstarch, cinnamon, and water together BEFORE you add it to the broth. The end game here is a kind of gravy. But when you just throw the corn starch in it clumps and is weird. So avoid that. Cook the gravy on high for like 15 mins and then add the other biz back in and ENJOY.

It makes a BUNCH of food so you’ll be set for the week.

Today was a big day. I just got 3 new stellar cookbooks (CAN NOT WAIT to try some of the recipes) AND I bought a fondue pot. So get ready for some fondue action in the future…especially with Super Bowl Sunday coming up!!

image

 

This is what it looks like BEFORE cooking…lots of good stuff in there.

 

image

 

 

The AFTER shot…it cooks down nice and it hearty and filling.

Leave a Reply

