A meal to warm you up in cold weather

Overall this winter has been CRAZY warm. It was real easy to forget that based on the cold temperatures this past weekend though. 20 degree days…gross.

The cold weather made me crave something weather appropriate. Nothing suits cold weather like a solid soup…or stew…I don’t discriminate. The thing is I am by no means a soup/stew enthusiast. I don’t dislike them, I just don’t prefer them. But hey, when its cold outside you do what’cha gotta do. So I flipped through my cookbooks until I found something that intrigued me.

I settled on Turkey Chowder. Did you even know that there was such a thing? I sure didn’t…but again, I’m no soup expert. I figured it was a solid choice to warm me up, feed me for the week, and not bust my budget. Plus, turkey is one of my favorite things and I like chowder, so it stands to reason that I would enjoy them together.

This is a pretty low maintenance recipe (are you noticing a trend here?) and only takes about 15 minutes of prep time…less if you have good knife skills.

Here’s what you need:

3-4 pieces turkey bacon crisped
1 lb turkey cutlet cubed (1/2 pieces)
1 potato peeled and cubed
1 celery stalk chopped
1 carrot chopped (this seems conservative, I used like 3 smaller ones)
1 onion chopped
2 cups reduced sodium chicken stalk
2 10 oz condensed cream of mushroom soup
spices (salt, pepper, tyme, whatever you want really…you know what you like)

You just throw it all in the crockpot and turn it on. Cook for like 4-6 on high or 8-10 on low.

The result is 8 1 cup servings of a tasty and hearty soup!

Now, I’m a bit of space cadet and I forgot the bacon part (I even had a list at the grocery store!) and mine still tastes good…so I guess you can call that part optional. Though why anyone would willing leave out bacon is mystery I don’t want to understand…

image

Simple ingredient list

image

the end result

Leave a Reply

