A Salute to Muffin Tins Part 2

So Part 1 of my salute to the muffin tin covered how to use your tin to make cool tie dye cupcakes. And I admit that while those cupcakes were totally awesome, using a muffin tin to make cupcakes is hardly a revolutionary idea. That’s why I posting this guy. Part 2 will provide you with other, less conventional, ways in which to enjoy your cook wear.

The great thing about the muffin tin is that can divide your food into appropriate serving sizes. If you’re like me and pack lunch and whatnot, this is a VERY convenient feature. The other night I used my tin to make Turkey Meatloaf Muffins. In other words, individual servings of of tasty turkey meatloaf.

Before I tell you how you can make your own I’m going to give you some other treats to make in your muffin tins—individual quiches, beef meatloaf, mini pies, and so much more than muffins.

Here’s how to make your own mini meatloafs (meatloaves?…)

1 package ground turkey (around a pound)
1 egg
1/4 breadcrumbs (I used italian flavored)
minced garlic (I trust that you know how much you like so I won’t regulate)
1 onion chopped small
spices (salt, pepper, other things you like)

In a bowl you want to combine all the ingredients together and form into balls.

image

Spray the muffin tin with non-stick spray. Put the balls into the tin and bake at about 350 for around 20-25 mins.

image

You get these delightful little meatloafs that you can easily eat and store. (and if you’re having a dinner party you can ensure that everyone gets some!)

I’ll include the side I made with my turkey treats because they were so delicious. I made some baked zucchini fries (A healthy alternative to potato fries).

Here’s what you’ll need: (this recipe serves 2-3)

2 medium/small zucchinis (really depends on how many people you’re cooking for)
1/4 cup bread crumbs (again I used my italian ones)
1/4 Parmesan cheese
1 egg

In a bowl you want to whip the egg a bit with a fork. In another bowl you want to mix up the breadcrumbs and cheese (with any spices you want). You want to peel the zucchini a little because the coating sticks better to the porous parts. Then slice them into thick fries.
Dip the zucchini in the egg and then coat it in the crumb mixture and put onto a cookie sheet. Repeat until all your zucchini is done. Bake at 350 for about 15-20 mins.
NOTE: Zucchini holds a lot of water so you don’t want to make these ahead of time because they’ll get limp.

Leave a Reply

