Did Somebody Say Pork?

Well folks, that oh-so glorious summer-like weather has most definitely left us..sigh. It was nice while it lasted though wasn’t it?

Silver lining being that the return of the cold allows for some great crockpot creations…not that the weather makes a huge difference mind you…the weather does not define me. Take that Mother Nature. But I digress…


I was feeling in the mood for meat this week. My meals for the past few weeks have been more on the vegetarian side. And I weirdly had this craving for pork. Pork goes really well with other stuff (potatoes, squash, cranberries, apples). But I didn’t feel like going the “pork chops and apple sauce” route a-la Bobby Brady. I decided instead to make a pork loin.

Two things about this post: 1) I have typed lion instead of loin every time I have mentioned it. 2) The idea of a 25 year old making a pork loin is hilarious to me. Not that 25 year olds aren’t capable of such a thing, but it just sounds so funny when you tell people what you’re doing. “Oh just cooking up a pork loin, nbd” It just sounds like something only mom’s and grandmother’s make. But apparently its something THIS girl makes too.

I didn’t actually use a recipe for this one. I took elements from some similar ones and adapted them to my slightly lazier methods (e.g. just throw everything into the crockpot and leave it alone for 8 hours). I call the dish Slow Cooker Cranberry Apple Pork Loin with Squash and Potatoes. It leaves a lot to the imagination don’t you think? I added a bunch of things that I like which add yummy flavors and texture..we’re talking craisins, apples, butternut squash, potatoes…

What you’ll need:

1 lb pork loin
1 lb butternut squash (cubed)
2 potatoes (cubed)
1 onion (chopped…I chop mine big)
3 small apples (cored and thickly sliced)
~1/2  can chicken broth
~1/4 c craisins
spices (I used garlic flakes, salt, pepper, and thyme)

Start by peeling and cubing the squash and potatoes. Chop up your onion and apples as well. Trim the fat off of your pork loin. I cut mine in 2 pieces…but I suggest cutting it in 4 pieces).
Toss the meat into the crockpot and season it up with your spices. Then toss those veggies on top and cover with the broth. Finally sprinkle those craisins on top.
Cook on high for 6 hours or low for 4.

Based on meat portions it yields about 4 servings that are deliciously veggie heavy.
Ways to potentially improve the recipe if your less lazy than me would be to pan sear the pork serving prior to adding them to the pot. I think it will help the keep the porks form a little, rather than have a more pulled-pork style. Also, I used a whole can of broth, so I had extra “sauce” in my pot…you can thicken up the liquid by bringing it to a boil in a sauce pan with some cornstarch and it would make a super yummy gravy.

Then all that’s left is to eat that biz up!

SIDENOTE: Now you can Follow me via email! enter your email to the right to get email updates when I post a new adventure! And leave comments/suggestions! I’d love to hear from you!! Happy Cooking!

One thought on “Did Somebody Say Pork?

Leave a Reply

