Dinner Time

So there is a fruit and vegetable stand right outside my T stop that sells really cheap and yummy produce. Its incredibly convenient…and WAY cheaper than what I pay at the grocery store. I was feeling a serious need for some veggies on Monday so I picked up a few things before heading home.

I ended up grabbing a huge zucchini, 3 big potatoes, a lemon, a bunch of bananas, and four apples…all for the bargain price of $8.50. BEST. On my ride home I decided what I would whip up for dinner.

Here’s what I ended up making:

I made some herb roasted potatoes, Parmesan crusted baked zucchini, and lemon and herb grilled chicken tenderloins.

For the potatoes I peeled and chopped them first. Then drizzled them with some extra virgin olive oil, and seasoned them with salt, pepper, garlic flakes, montreal chicken seasoning (so good, from McCormick), some thyme, and some lemon.

For the zucchini I peeled and sliced them. Then I dipped them in whole wheat flour, egg, and a mixture of Italian breadcrumbs, Parmesan cheese and spices. I baked them on a cookie sheet for about 10-15 minutes (until they’re golden brown on top).

For the chicken I briefly marinated the tenderloins with some olive oil, spices, and lemons. Then I slapped them on my trusty George Foreman grill until they were cooked through.

I found a really interesting desert idea on Pinterest that I decided to try as well.

You can see the full recipe here. But to summarize: you only need banana, peanut butter, cocoa powder,an egg, vanilla and a little sugar and BOOM 2.5 minutes in the microwave later you got yourself a cake. I topped mine with some fat free cool whip. Its really easy to make and tastes pretty good.

All in all it was a great end to a less than pleasant Monday.

Leave a Reply

