A Lesson In Failure Brought to You by the Makers of Fat Free Cheese…

Ok…so  everyone has those few signature dishes that they are especially good at. One such dish for me is homemade mac and cheese. I’ve been making it for YEARS…I don’t even need a recipe, and not to totally brag…its delicious. So it came as an annoying and irritating surprise that I royally screwed it up the other night.

I had decided that I would make come broccoli mac and cheese and that’s what I would eat for the week. Admirable plan. Totally a doable thing….Until it wasn’t.

Mac and cheese isn’t the healthiest of foods. And I generally try to make my meals as low in fat as I can. So I substituted butter for a lite butter-type spread (Brummel and Brown I think), whole milk for skim, and full fat cheese for 75% fat free sharp cheddar cheese. I didn’t think it would make that much of a difference. Turns out it really does lol.

The all low fat cheese sauce ingredients don’t work well together. What happened was that the cheese and milk didn’t incorporate. The result was that there was just a bunch of melty cheese and milk.

These are my go-to spices for jazzing up my mac and cheese. I tend to use these in most of what I cook actually…

Whole wheat noodles with fresh broccoli.

This is how my “sauce” came out. Not cool fat free cheese…not cool. I had to dump out the extra milk from the sauce because milk noddles didn’t really appeal to me.

In the end it wasn’t a COMPLETE failure. I totally ate it all week anyways. Lesson learned though.

Here is my mac and cheese recipe:

2 Tbs butter
2 Tbs flour
2 cups milk
~2 cups cheese (I like extra sharp cheddar but mixing in others is great too)
spices of your choice
box of pasta (whole wheat elbows, penne, and rotelini  work well)
1 cup Italian bread crumbs (optional)

Cook pasta per box instructions.
In a sauce pan, melt butter and stir in flour. Slowly add in the milk, stirring continuously. When the milk starts to thicken up (not boil though) start to add in your cheese. When the cheese is mostly melted add in your spices.
Put pasta into a baking dish and pour cheese sauce over it. Give it a quick stir to make sure its all coated. Top with bread crumbs. Bake on like 350 for about 20-25 minutes until top gets golden. (you can add all kinds of things to it as well…like broccoli, tomatoes, ham, chicken, etc).

Its REALLY easy and tasty. Just watch out when you’re choosing your cheeses! Next time I’m going with regular cheese and keeping my skim milk!

Leave a Reply

