DIY Ink Coasters

As you know by now, this girl loves a good craft. On one of my many journeys through the depths of the Pinterest universe I can across this guy. (you have to scroll a bit to get to the ink coaster post).

This craft adventure appealed to me on many levels. First, I love coasters. I think they’re great. Second, the colors looked super cool.

 

It occurs to me as I’m writing this that I didn’t take any ‘during’ photos of this project…just final shots. Oh well…I’ll paint you a word picture lol.

 

These are actually pretty simple to make. But you do need to prepare a bit first.

Things you’ll need:

-Ceramic tiles (not found at many craft stores…check Home Depot around .15)
-Alcohol ink (try Adirondack!)
-Alcohol
-Aerosol finisher
-Paintbrush
-Pads for the bottoms (felt or cork work)

Instructions:

1.Start by coating your tile with regular alcohol. (which works the same as the ‘blending solution’ at the craft store and costs way less. Make it a thin layer.

2.Now start dripping little spots of ink onto your tile. Allow the ink to slide around a bit before adding your next color. Keep adding more color, until you have covered your tile completely.

The great thing about this project is that you can essentially start over if you don’t like it or you make a mistake. You can use a paper towel to dab any extra ink or just wash the whole tile clean in the sink. (which I absolutely did…twice).

3.”Once your surface has dried to the touch, take your coaster to a well ventilated area, and spray it with a coat of aerosol finisher to seal the colors. I find that the colors REALLY pop out after this step.” This is a quote from the blog I used.

I did NOT find this to be the case. What happened when C and I sprayed our tiles was that the colors ran a little. My ink blots were a little sharper BEFORE we sprayed them. I think maybe they needed to dry longer?

4. Once your coasters are dry, add felt or cork parches to the bottoms and use away!

 

My notes on this:

I will totally do this project again. I will definitely wait longer before spraying them with the finisher. Also, we gave them a few coats of the spray, but they really do need a bit more. I will probably just brush on some modge podge before really using them to give the designs a little more protection.

 

Leave a Reply

