Leonardo da Who? One Gal’s Attempt at Chevron

Da Vinci ain’t got nothing on me these days. I’ve been painting more and more…something that actually comes as a little bit of a surprise to me because I have some OCD perfectionist issues.

The whole painting thing started kind of gradually. Certain cities (like Boston) have this thing called Paint Nite. Where local artists set up in random bars and teach you how to recreate their painting…while you drink of course. Its really fun and shows up on the groupon type sites. I’ve gone with my lady pals twice now and painted some cool stuff.

Paint Nite Number One: Cityscape; Paint Nite Number 2: Cocktail 🙂 Third is a picture I copied off of one I saw on the internet lol.

Anyways…this is just to show how it began. Back to the present. I have a living room full of blank walls and it bugged me so I went on a trip to Michaels and got some paints and canvass. This is the most recent painting adventure I’ve embarked on. The DIY Chevron.

Ugh. Looking at this irritates me. Here’s the thing. I read on a blog about how “it’s so easy” to DIY Chevron and that the secret is to basically treat it like a pie crust (the woven kind). FALSE. It sucked and I instantly regretted it lol. It made the tape not stick well because you handle it so much, plus it was just WAY more work than just making a pattern.

Once you get your Chevron lines figured out then you can start painting. I went for solid stripes.

Here’s where my OCD kicks in a little. Because I had handled the tape so much making the lines, they ended up bleeding a little. Which is just mildly annoying to look at. Also the stripes are 100% equal…but I’ve been learning to brush this biz off and try and ignore it.

This is more of a weekend project because you have to wait for the first stripes to be completely dry before you finish. So I painted the first stripes Friday night and finished it all up on Saturday. You cover the painted stripes with your painters tape then paint away. I went for a messy approach. I just painted random colors over the tape.

Once the paint is dry, peel the tape off and BOOM. You got yourself a piece of art. So there you have it folks. Go forth and put Van Gogh to shame!

Leave a Reply

