Meat and Po’tater Casserole

When you read the title, imagine it with a southern accent…because that’s how I hear it haha…

So last week I went over to a friends house and we whipped up a tasty meal. She had found a recipe for Meat and Potato Casserole online so we figured it was worth a try. We did however make a few changes….namely that we used sweet potatoes instead of regular potatoes.

Its actually pretty simple to prepare and doesn’t cost a fortune to put together…so clearly I’m a fan. I WILL however point out some key things that you’ll likely miss if, like me, you read and prepare one step at a time.

Meat and Potato Casserole

Ingredients

  • 4 cups thinly sliced peeled potatoes
  • 2 tablespoons butter, melted
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 pound ground beef
  • 1 package (10 ounces) frozen corn
  • 1 can (10-3/4 ounces) condensed cream of celery soup, undiluted
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/8 teaspoon pepper
  • 1 tablespoon chopped onion
  • 1 cup (4 ounces) shredded cheddar cheese, divided
  • Minced fresh parsley, optional

Now before you read ahead, Note: YOU COOK THE POTATOES FIRST. After you peel, slice, and butter’em up you have to bake them for about 20 minutes! We sort of missed that part and it set us back time-wise so I thought I would tell you guys up front.

Directions

  • Toss potatoes with butter and salt; arrange on the bottom and up the sides of a greased 13-in. x 9-in. baking dish. Bake, uncovered, at 400° for 25-30 minutes or until potatoes are almost tender.
  • Meanwhile, in a large skillet, cook beef over medium heat until no longer pink; drain. Sprinkle beef and corn over potatoes. Combine the soup, milk, garlic powder, pepper, onion and 1/2 cup cheese; pour over beef mixture.
  • Bake, uncovered, at 400° for 20 minutes or until vegetables are tender. Sprinkle with remaining cheese. Bake 2-3 minutes longer or until cheese is melted. Sprinkle with parsley if desired. Yield: 6 servings.

It was super yummy and you can spice it up by adding other spices or veggies. And it all totally holds up when you take it for lunch the next day!

Note for vegetarians: This recipe can totally work with meat substitutes like lentils and soy-fake meat (sorry I can’t remember the actual name)

On an unrelated note: Its holiday fair season! woohoo! I can not express how much I love a good fair/yard sale. I happened to get a MAJOR steal when I went with my fam the other weekend! I got this AMAZING crystal cut punch bowl set complete with 12 glasses and stand bowl for….wait for it…..SIX DOLLARS. I basically died. I love it so much and CAN NOT wait to use it!

Punch Bowl Set!

 

How have the rest of fared at these fairs?…see what I did there…college money well spent.

One thought on “Meat and Po’tater Casserole

Leave a Reply

