DIY Painted Glasses…aka The Epic Craft Fail

Ugh…the wounds are still fresh on this one folks…

So you all know how I spend lots of time surfing the depths of Pinterest. I’ve found tons of super cool craft ideas on there. Its great. I had found this one project that I was totally psyched to try out. They were these knock of Anthropologie Confetti Tumblers. So cute. Also the blog its from, Radical Possibility, is HILARIOUS and awesome. Totally check it out. The girl is super funny and has some excellent ideas!

Anyways…when I was home for Thanksgiving I stopped by the dollar store and picked up four stemless wine glasses so I could make my own confetti glasses.

Stemless Wine Glass

I was all set to start confetti-ing the crap out of these guys…and I started…and I sucked at it and gave up lol. I really didn’t like how the paint looked sort of transparent (I was using my own Basics brand acrylic paints from Michaels). So I washed ’em off and started again…attempting a type of ombre-esque feel using a paint sponge.

Painting with a sponge

I was so-so about the sponge, but I liked the coverage and texture much better than the dots looked. So I painted them different colors.

Painted Glasses

I was feeling like something was missing. So I decided to mix up lighter versions of the colors and lightly sponge it over the glasses (except I used yellow on the orange one to make sure it didn’t look too much like the red one). I used a flash on my camera to show the overlay colors better (in regular light it creates a sort of frosted look).

This is with a flash...in regular light it looks 'frosted'

This is with a flash…in regular light it looks ‘frosted’

DIY Painted Glasses

In the end, I was happy with the final product! I sprayed it with a couple coats of Mod Podge Acrylic Sealer and thought I was good to go.

this is the spray I used for reference

this is the spray I used for reference

Turns out…I was NOT good to go. I let them dry for 4 days. And when I went to give them a quick wash so I could drink out of them, DISASTER STRUCK.  The paint cam right off! 😦 I was…and AM…SUPER bummed about it! I really don’t know what went wrong.

FAIL. Ruined Glasses

I’m hoping that some of you super crafters might be able to shed some light on what exactly caused this tragedy. I think next time I attempt to re-do these glasses I might just spring for some paints specifically made for painting on glass…maybe the Martha ones.

2 thoughts on “DIY Painted Glasses…aka The Epic Craft Fail

  1. Hey! Saaad! I think the problem is that you need to use paint formulated for glass like martha stewart glass paint — you also have to cure the paint in the oven, or wait for like 30 days for it to cure.

    So, I’m wondering if you would be interested in letting me put this fail in my upcoming CraftFail book? Huh, huh, what do you think? 🙂

Leave a Reply

