Sometimes I Try Home Remedies from the Internet.

Here’s the thing…I’m fairly prone to accidents. I wrote a post about it before. Given this fact you’d think that I would have a stocked first aid kit. Welp I’m poor. So I don’ t.

This pretty much sums it up.

This pretty much sums it up.

So it was particularly unfortunate when I hurt myself making dinner last night. Don’t worry it was no big deal or anything…just one of those everyday kind of boo-boos that hurt like crazy but aren’t really anything. I was cutting into my baked chicken to see if it was cooked all the way through…and silly me didn’t realize I was totally resting my thumb against the rim of the hot pan. Smart move right? It took me a solid 15 seconds to even notice. Ugh. Needless to say I was less than thrilled. The last time a burned my finger (on a stupid molten chocolate chip while making pancakes) I had to ice it for over 6 hours until I used some of my friend’s burn cream. Which I neglected to buy.

So what’s a girl to do? Obviously I called my mom first lol…but mostly just to have her ask my Gram because I don’t trust anything she suggests. But my Gram was at a party so that plan failed. On a related note: my Gram was out partying on a Tuesday night and 25 year old me was watching Jeopardy…

I had to resort to to my go to for answers: Google. But this is one of those times where you have to be skeptical because people post some weirdness on home remedy sites.

Mustard and Flour

So after ignoring the crazy ones…one jerk said suck it up, another said touch it to your earlobe…I settled on the mustard treatment. You combine yellow mustard and flour and make a paste.

the pasteThere were no proportions so I just  guessed and made it a paste consistency.

slather it onThen you apply it to the burn and wrap in some bandaids….

I’m on the fence about this remedy. I mean it worked sort of…it helped ease that miserable sting you feel when you take it off ice. So that’s good. In the interest of full disclosure I did actually try the earlobe thing…it was only successful in making me feel ridiculous. In reality I should just buy some burn cream.

All patched up

So in the end I really did put mustard on my burn…then covered it in neon orange bandaids and rested it on an Iron Man booboo pack–because I’m an adult. I may have also drank a little wine….

 

 

Leave a Reply

