Mmmm…Banana Bread

Weather is a tricky thing….in particular, what it does to temperature. My kitchen is a variety of different temperatures, which is less convenient for my poor bananas. Those poor jerks just can’t seem to adjust and seem to ripen at warp speed these days. I found myself with 4 overly ripe bananas so clearly there was only one option–make banana bread.

Now I have shared banana muffins with you all before…and those were great…but I decided to try something different. So naturally I asked google for advice.

I found a super simple, relatively healthy recipe (check it out here).

Yummy Banana Bread Drizzled with Chocolate

Yummy Banana Bread Drizzled with Chocolate

Here’s how the magic happened:

Ingredients

  • 1 2/3 cups flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup
  • 2 eggs (I used eggs whites)
  • 1/2 cup oil
  • 4 bananas, very ripe, mashed
  • 2 tablespoons sour cream
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla (really use however much you want…this measurement is arbitrary)
  • walnuts to sprinkle on top (optional)

Beat the eggs and sugar together for little bit (a few mins to make them fluffier). Add other liquid ingredients and the bananas. Add the dry ingredients. Pop that biz into your pan (line it with parchment paper or just spray it with Pam like me). Bake at 350 for 45-60 mins. <–this seemed long to me but totally was needed.

Now, remember that time I had some ladies over for a party around New Years? Well I ended up with leftover chocolate fondue (which I stuck in a ziplock in my freezer) so inspiration hit. In all fairness, this was not an original idea…Dunkin’ Donuts has a new banana chocolate chip muffin that looked good so I totally copied them. I thawed out some fondue and drizzled it on top of the banana bread. I thought it added a little something.

All in all, I pleased with the recipe and am working on finding a temperature that won’t kill all my bananas (I wrapped the top of the bunch with saran wrap because Pinterest told me too…we’ll see how that works).

Leave a Reply

