DIY Dry Erase Calendar

The weather recently has been insane. FREEZING. Gross. Silver lining being that it is ideal ‘let’s-stay-inside-all-day-and-do-crafts’ weather. Which is exactly what I did last weekend.

In the interest of full disclosure I should tell you that this is not some original idea that I had. I actually saw it on a few sites (Pinterest, Wanelo, Craft Gawker…).

I liked it instantly because 1. it looks real cool and 2. its SUPER CHEAP to make. What other reasons do you need, right?

Here’s what you’ll need:

-paint swatches (FREE at hardware stores…boom)
-glue
-some fun paper (wrapping paper can work well)
-a frame (Michael’s has some amazing sales)

Got these guys for free at Home Depot

Got these guys for free at Home Depot

I got the paint swatches in order…they are numbered on the top…so I just grabbed a sequence in order. (HINT: grab extras in case you mess up!).

calendar1

Ok so I cut off the top and bottom squares and used the middle ones for the calendar days. I kept the bottom ones though and used them as the days of the week. I had an 11×14 frame…so I had to cut the swatches. I measured them at 1 and 5 8ths (aka 2 lines past 1.52 inches).  I lined the back of my frame with cool wrapping paper for the background.

Glue'em Down

 

Once you cut’em down to size, line them up and glue them down. I cut the very bottom squares that I had saved in half and used them as day of the week markers. I have a bunch of scrap booking materials so I used some stickers I have to write Month. NOTE: the glue makes the card-boardish paint swatches curl a little…so I actually put something heavy on it until it was dry to flatten it.

All Done!

All Done!

 

Once its all dry, I used a silver sharpie to write the days of the week. Then I just put it in the frame ($9.99 at Michael’s). You use the dry erase markers on the glass and BOOM you’re done! Super simple and easy. And you never have to buy a calendar again!

You can alter this project by not using paint swatches and simply making your own fancy/awesome looking white board.

 

Happy Crafting!

One thought on “DIY Dry Erase Calendar

Leave a Reply

