Sometimes I make my own English Muffins

what can I say?…I’m a boss.

Here’s the thing; I almost never have bread products in my house. I’m not super into sandwiches so I don’t have a real need for bread…and english muffins are a rarity. BUT…this past Sunday I really wanted an omelette. And, this may sound weird, but I don’t really like eating eggs without some form of toast. It just doesn’t feel right to me. So I decided to just whip some up myself.

Now I’m not super new to this. While I was in Peace Corps I used to make them a lot. So I figured now was the time to give it another go. They’re not technically English Muffins…they actually a tradition bread from Lesotho. But they’re basically the same thing.

Here’s how the magic happens:

English Muffins

-~4 cups flour
-1 package instant yeast
-dash of salt
-1 Tbsp sugar
-1 cup warm water

In a bowl put the flour, sugar, and salt and mix it up. Then add the packet of yeast. NOW this is different from normal yeast use…I don’t dissolve it in water first I just put it in. Add warm water (don’t make it too hot or it will wreck the yeast). Mix it up…you’re gonna have to get all up in it with your hands.

Now, set it aside to rise a bit. HINT: I put my bowl into a bigger bowl of hot water (not boiling, but hot from the tap) and cover with a wet towel or cloth. It doesn’t take all the at long.

then separate the dough into balls the side you want your muffins to be.

To cook them you set them in a DRY skillet on high. It helps to cover the pan (helps cook the inside). When brown, flip and cook other side.

set them in the pan and cover

set them in the pan and cover

Over all it’s pretty fast.

Flip them over and cook other side....You can tell done-ness by the browning

Flip them over and cook other side….You can tell done-ness by the browning

Final Product

Final Product

 

Then eat up. BOOM…done and done.

Leave a Reply

