Garlic and Goat Cheese Spaghetti Squash…NOM

Again… apologies for taking an absurdly long time to write a post. I’ve been super bust at work and it just slipped off my radar. I fully intend to shape the s**t up though. I even have the next 2 posts lined up! BOOM making moves.

Back to the issue at hand. Dinner. A couple weeks back I made this super yummy spaghetti squash dish that I want to share with the world. It has so many of my favorite things…garlic (yum) goat cheese (yes please) spaghetti squash (big fan).

I had goat cheese in my fridge that I wanted to use, so naturally I turned to my BFF Google to find out how I could best combine it with biz I already had on-hand. I stumbled upon a great recipe on the blog Primalist and started up the oven.

Garlic and Goat Cheese Spaghetti Squash

  • 8-10 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/2 bunch parsley, chopped
  • 3 Tbsp butter
  • 3/4 cup olive oil (I recommend using no more the 1/2 cup)
  • salt/pepper
  • juice of one lemon
  • goat cheese (~1 big log or 2 of the small ones)
  • 1 large spaghetti squash
Cut in half and bake for about an hour.

Poke holes with a fork, bake for about an hour.

The thing about spaghetti squash is that it can take a while to cook it. If you cook it in the oven it takes about an hour…however, if your’e strapped for time (or impatient like me) you can pop it in the microwave for like 10 mins and you get the same result. For this recipe I actually baked it in the stove though.

Scrape out the insides and stick'em in a bowl

Scrape out the insides and stick’em in a bowl

After its finished baking I scooped out the insides and put them in a separate bowl. You don’t have to do this…but since you have to mix in other ingredients I thought it’d be best.

Another super awesome thing about this recipe is that it allowed me to use my very own parsley from my herb garden!

Urban gardening at its finest. Windowsill herb garden.

Urban gardening at its finest. Windowsill herb garden.

When the squash is almost done baking, melt the butter over medium heat. Turn heat to low and add the garlic and sauté for about 10 mins (be careful not to burn your garlic!). Then add the olive oil, parsley and salt/pepper.

Add the garlic mixture to your bowl of spaghetti squash. Then put the squash insides mixed with garlic back into the spaghetti squash body. Add goat cheese and lemon juice. Broil for 5 minutes until goat cheese has melted.

Nice and cheesey

Nice and cheesey

NOM NOM

NOM NOM

The end result is so creamy and fresh. So good. I ate one half for dinner and brought the second half for lunch the next day.

When I make this again, I will definitely use less olive oil and butter. I think need at most only 1/2 cup.

Anyways…I will do better about posting. Hopefully I’ll have some interesting stories to tell and fun recipes to share!

 

Leave a Reply

